October 22, 2021
  • October 22, 2021

Chloe Pearse inspires Munster women to inter-pro glory

By on September 11, 2021 0

Chloe Pearse’s powerful try-double inspired Munster’s first Vodafone women’s inter-provincial title in four years, as they boxed smartly to beat Leinster 19-7 at Energia Park.

Captain Sarah Quin took home the trophy after Matt Brown’s well-trained side scored a slew of wins, adding to wins over Ulster (50-5) and Connacht (31-7) during the last fortnight.

Opposing props Lisa Callan and Pearse traded tries in an electric opening spell, the latter knocking back two defenders on a 40-yard climb to the line.

Leinster, who led 7-5 at halftime, was aiming for an Interpro three in a row, but Player of the Match Pearse was unstoppable at close range in the 61st minute.

Half-back Nicole Cronin, whose smart kick was key, converted and also added the extras – and the assist – to influential substitute Deirbhile Nic a Bhaird in the 77th-minute raid behind the posts.

With Ireland in full preparation for the start of the Rugby World Cup qualifying tournament in Parma on Monday, this season’s Interpros have been played without the international players.

The last three weekends have shown depth to increase under the national team, with a number of youngsters coming out on top and previously capped players like Pearse (five tries in total) and Cronin (26 points) both in featured as best try and points. scorers respectively.

Scorers for Leinster: Essays: Lisa Callan; Cons: Jenny Murphy.

Scorers for Munster: Essays: Chloe Pearse 2, Deirbhile Nic a Bhaird; Cons: Nicole Cronin 2.

LEINSTER: E Roberts, G Miller, M Claffey, N Byrne, M O’Brien, N Caughey, L Farrell McCabe, C Haney (captain), L Callan, V O’Mahony, A Coleman, M Holohan, E Murphy, J Finlay J Murphy.

Substitutes: C Blackmore, C Molloy, A O’Dowd, E Anthony, R Horan, M Scuffil-McCabe, A Donnelly, E McKeown.

MUNSTER: A Doyle, C Ugwueru, A McInerney, S Nunan, S Carroll, N Cronin, M Wall, C Pearse, K Sheehan, F Reidy, S McCarthy, C O’Halloran, A Caplice, M Óg O’Leary, S Quin ( captain).

Substitutes: D Nic a Bhaird, A Moore, L Delaney, A Te Pou, E Murphy, G Lane, R Allen, A Corey.

Source link

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *